Grief and Loss

Grief can be a reaction to any form of loss. Most people will experience loss at some point in their lives and coping with the loss of a loved one, a relationship, home-loss or career can shake your foundation.  If you have experienced the pain of mourning, you know how difficult it can be to function. It’s important to note that everyone grieves differently. The most common stages of grief include denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance-but people do not always experience these stages in any particular order, nor do they experience every stage.

Local Experts in Grief and Loss

Scott Olds

Couples Therapy, Individual Therapy

If you are experiencing anxiety, depression, or trauma, counseling can help you regain your emotional balance, enabling you to live a full and joyful life again. A loss can disrupt you at the emotional, physical, spiritual, or cognitive level. Grief may be caused by a loved one's death or more generally any life-altering loss, including a significant illness,

Brian Keating

Child Therapy, Adolescent/Teen Therapy, Individual Therapy, Group Therapy

Judi's House/JAG Institute trained post-graduate trainee and staff grief counselor. CGC Pathfinders Provider. Member of the National Alliance for Grieving Children.

Hannah Dudley

Adolescent/Teen Therapy, Couples Therapy, Family Therapy, Group Therapy, Individual Therapy

Four years providing grief-specific services to families (ages 3 - older adults) in Denver through Judi's House, along with a previous internship at Hospice, has set Hannah up to be an expert at educating and supporting those through grief.

Paula Stephani

Individual Therapy

Whether you're grieving the loss of a loved one, a beloved pet, or a career, a major loss of any kind can turn your world and your identity upside down. Waves of despair, guilt, anger, anxiety, and loneliness can wash over us with overwhelming intensity, sometimes long after the loss has occurred. All of us need support in navigating a painful loss to find fulfillment and joy in our lives again.

Todd Thillman

Individual Therapy, Couples Therapy

With over 11 years in hospice and facilitating several grief groups, I have a lot of experience working with grief and loss.

Cindy Gordon

Individual Therapy

I have done workshops on living with grief and loss, and have worked extensively with individuals dealing with the loss of both human and pet/animals. I have also worked with complicated grief, such as miscarriage, parents with dementia, and losing someone in a violent way.

Brenda Bomgardner

Individual Therapy

Loss can knock the wind out of us. We grasp for air and still feel weighed down with sadness lacking energy. What used to bring us joy no longer has any shine. Dull. Drab. Dark. When will the darkness lift? With grief there are two losses. The loss of someone or something important to you and the loss of joy. The sense of vitality in living evaporates with grief. Talk helps!

Sarah Freeze

Individual Therapy

Grief and loss bring an array of deep and intense emotions and it can be hard to feel like your normal self. Therapy looks different between each individual I work with. It can be easy to focus on the problems, but with my help we will be solution-focused, facilitating growth and progress.

Allison Harvey

Adolescent/Teen Therapy, Couples Therapy, Family Therapy, Individual Therapy, Group Therapy

Great options for support after the loss of a loved one through individual and group therapy. Grief requires a soft and understanding approach. I understand that it is very difficult to open up about significant losses. I will help guide you through the grief process in a way that will not overwhelm or engulf you.

Carolyn Duhn

Individual Therapy

The pain of loss can be debilitating and it can feel scary not knowing when it will resolve. The subsequent mood swings can be disorienting and frustrating- feeling devastated one moment then laughing at a funny joke then feeling guilty about it! As no stranger to grief myself, I can help you navigate these complicated waters in a safe and compassionate space to honor the loss.

Danelle Chapman

Individual Therapy, Couples Therapy, Adolescent/Teen Therapy, Child Therapy

Grief is complicated and how one experiences grief is unique to them. My approach is compassionate and respectful. My hope is to help clients move through the stages and phases of grief in a healing and transforming way. We work to honor the emotions that come up and regulate them in a way to feel grounded and safe.

Margaret Bell

Couples Therapy, Individual Therapy

Grief and loss Every day you are affected by loss and grief. Loss and grief can cause feelings of frustration, sadness, anger, hopelessness, and animosity. Together we create rituals and daily practices to support you in understanding your emotions, ways to honor your grief and loss, as well as, how to let go of what no longer serves you.

← Back to Specialties List